Pitching, querying, dusting off

I’d forgotten how obnoxious it is to have to stuff a 100,000 word novel into a couple hundred words for a query letter.  I beat ♥My Book♥ to death last week, came up with a pitch I thought might work (and which Jason Black mightily improved) and then Ivy came back to me on Monday with, I don’t like this.

Monday night I got my first rejection, and Tuesday morning I got my second, neither one from my first-choice agent (so please, keep praying) and Tuesday mid-morning, I went online and started reading successful queries.

I’ve written successful queries before. I don’t know why I didn’t do this first, except that I’ve never really had a problem with the pitch. But after reading ten really good ones, I heard my  new pitch.

Of course, it spoke itself to me while I was making lunch (don’t they all?) but right afterward I sat down and spit out the  New Revised Awesome query. Awesome because it has what the other two didn’t have: the novel’s voice. It reads fast. And it’s funny in parts.

Meaning my first-choice agent is going to read the previous pitch, but there’s nothing I can do about it now. (Keep praying: maybe it got lost in the bit-bucket and I can resubmit.)

The other one wasn’t bad. But the new one sings.

At least, I’m flush with pleasure at it now (♥My Query♥) and will be delighted until Jason and Ivy return it to me looking like it’s been graffiti-tagged and is bleeding red ink.

That’s okay. Beating a  manuscript (or a pitch) at this stage only makes it stronger.

Please pray that God leads me to the right agent, and the right agent to me.

About philangelus

Mom, freelance writer, novelist, angelphile, Catholic, know-it-all.
This entry was posted in The String Quartet Novel, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

