Wasp versus the angel, round one

It’s been a while since I posted an angel-story, so here goes. This is from my May, 2007 journal.

A wasp had gotten into the house. I saw it at night while I was loading the dishwasher.

Now, my guardian had scolded me a few days before for killing a bug that had gotten into the house (it wasn’t a problematic bug, and angels don’t mind helping get them out) and I hate killing wasps anyhow, so I tried to think of how to get it out of the house. Normally I’d open the glass door, and when it landed on the screen, slide that open and shut the glass door so it could leave at its leisure. But it was night, so that wouldn’t have worked (no light to attract it to the door.)

I stood there with cardboard and a cup, but the wasp was standing on top of a play-d0h set atop the china cabinet, and there was nowhere flat enough to seal it down.

I felt, Put the cup over it anyhow.

I knew that was nuts. I waited. The wasp didn’t move. I felt the urge again.

So standing on a chair, I set the cup over it, but the cup just sat atop the canisters of play-doh.

And then the wasp crawled up the inside of the cup. Stunned, I picked up the cup, and the wasp stayed there. I put the cardboard over the lip of the cup, walked it outside, and left the cup there so the thing could fly away.

I kept saying “Thank you!” and my Patient Husband thought I was talking to the wasp. I was really thanking the angel.

About philangelus

Mom, freelance writer, novelist, angelphile, Catholic, know-it-all.
This entry was posted in angels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wasp versus the angel, round one

  1. Dear Jane,

    Thank you for responding about the angel stories! It looks like you have a lot of good ones.
    I’m gathering stories together, and when we make the final selection, if we would like to use one of your stories I’ll write back to ask your formal permission.
    God bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

