Your hair!

My mom said on the phone, “I meant to say to you the last time I saw you–your hair!”

I started to laugh, and she said, “It’s curled!”

If you’ve been around for the past two years, you may remember that having kids curled my hair.  If you haven’t, the short story is that my hair has always been fine and straight, using the “won’t even take a perm” definition of “fine and straight.” Worse, after four pregnancies, it was getting thinner by the week.

Then, halfway through the pregnancy with Kiddo#4, the bottom parts began to curl. Just the parts near my neck, but regardless, they were curling.

It’s two years later, and I met my mother on a humid day and she said it was jaw-dropping how curly everything had gotten. Not just the bottom but the top, the sides — she suggested that if I cut it really short, without the weight of all that hair, maybe what was left would curl up tight. I don’t know, though. I’m scared to try, but the point is moot because I doubt I have time to go get it cut.

I said, “No one believed me!” and she just started laughing. Was I doing anything different? No, I don’t think so. Am I using conditioner? Yes, but I always have. Have I changed shampoos?

Actually, yes, but I don’t know if that’s the cause of the curl. But if you want to try for yourselves at home, I switched from The Cheap Stuff to Tresemme.

What I’m finding amusing, I suppose, is that I’ve defied the cultural assumption that having children destroys your body. But here it is, thirteen years and five babies later, and I’ve lost twenty-five pounds, grown an inch (no one can explain that!) and grown curly hair.

My mother said, “Maybe you should have another five kids, just to see what happens.”

Who knows? I might become a supermodel.

Or maybe I’m not that curious.

About philangelus

Mom, freelance writer, novelist, angelphile, Catholic, know-it-all.
This entry was posted in sarcasm. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Your hair!

  1. cricketB says:

    Your aerobics and fitness program involves running after kids and carrying them, and crawling around in cars on rainy days. You can’t use the bottom shelves for your own stuff so you have to use the top shelves. You also have to stand straight to be at eye-level with Kiddo#1.

    As for the hair? Humidity.

    • philangelus says:

      Two and a half consecutive years of humidity?

      I was pretty mobile after Kiddo1 and Kiddo2. I’ve slowed down after Kiddo4 because I’m always tired. Sad, really.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Mine went from straight to curly when I was a teenager (hormonal influence?) and hasn’t gone back since.

    Just a thought!

  3. cricketB says:

    The oil and sweat composition and quantity is affected by hormones. So is the cycle of individual hair follicles — when they work, rest, sleep, restart. The average follicle works for 2 years then takes a rest, during which time that strand falls out.

Leave a Reply

