the road taken

It’s been a while since I did an angel-related post. I think the last one was when the windshield wipers started working again, which is far too long.

It’s not that I haven’t noticed angel-work, but there are only so many blog entries I can write along the lines of “I couldn’t find my Widget, and I asked for help, and then I found my Widget.” Even worse, because the windshield wipers still refused to work for my Patient Husband (even though they always worked for me!) he paid the Honda dealership to fix them.

Bummer. I thought it was cool.

This summer we signed up for swim lessons with the YMCA in TenMilesAway, meaning I spent a lot of time in the cars.

There are four routes you can take to the YMCA. The easiest is to take the main road through Angelborough out to the highway, and then take that south an exit. Call that Route A. Route B takes the main road halfway to the highway, then a back road running parallel to the highway, and then you take another road across the highway to the YMCA. Route C is the most direct because it takes the hypotenuse rather than two legs of a right triangle. And a couple of weeks ago, I found Route D, which follows a winding country road and isn’t as direct, but there are fewer cars.

On Tuesday I decided to take Kiddo4 to the pool. While on the main road, I had a very strong feeling: take Route D. I hesitated because Route D isn’t as direct, but then I thought about how the whole route is lined with trees, and it’s much prettier because you get to see all these New England houses, and you even pass some horse farms. I was right before the cutoff for Route D, so I took it. And on the way home, I drove it back.

On Wednesday, I took Kiddo4 back to the pool (yes, an hour’s drive for half an hour’s immersion–it’s worth it, trust me) and again I thought, “I should take Route D.” Halfway through, though, I decided this route really isn’t the best. Because the road twists, it’s possible to come up suddenly on a stopped vehicle. On the way home, therefore, I took Route C, my default choice.

And that’s when I learned they’re doing utility work on Route C, so traffic is funneled through one lane for part of the drive. It wasn’t a terrible delay, but I think I was warned about it without ever knowing.

About philangelus

Mom, freelance writer, novelist, angelphile, Catholic, know-it-all.
This entry was posted in angels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the road taken

  1. Amy Deardon says:

    All things being equal, I prefer the longer windy roads anyway. They’re prettier, and you don’t have to worry about crazy drivers in the next lane (although I suppose sometimes you run into the guy behind you who wants to go 85 MPH. I just look for a place to pull over with these guys. I’m not a slow driver, but if he doesn’t want to avoid the deer, I figure he can have the accident and leave me out of it).

    • philangelus says:

      Except for the interstate, they’re all one lane in each direction out here in the Swamp. The curvy road on Route D actually has noplace to pull over unless you get into someone’s driveway. It even has a one-lane bridge which, while marked with a double yellow line down the center, is really only wide enough for one motor vehicle. I guess you could pass if you were on horseback. 😉

  2. Information_Queen says:

    I was driving home from a friend’s house once, and while there were two ways I could leave and get to the main road, I generally went the same way each time. One time, I had this incredibly strong feeling that I needed to go the other way this time. Nothing happened, but I have never been able to shake the feeling that something bad, like a really bad accident, would have happened if I had gone the usual way.

Leave a Reply

