Kiddo#4 blew my awesome Father’s Day surprise. Here’s the story…

James Plays Games

Way back in seventh grade, I played the cello for a year. It was a lot of fun. Ultimately I decided to continue with the trumpet, which I’d been playing for longer, and leave the cello behind. (This turned out to be a bad decision: I gave up the trumpet in high school after they made me join marching band, as I don’t have the coordination to march and play at the same time. Or, really, to march in step at all.) I haven’t touched either instrument in decades at this point, but had opined to my Devoted Wife that with both her and Kiddo 2 playing violin regularly, I thought it would be fun to pick up a cello again.

On Friday last week the four-year-old Kiddo 4 came to me and said, “Daddy, we got you a surprise, but I can’t tell you about it.” Well, I thought…

View original post 245 more words

About philangelus

Mom, freelance writer, novelist, angelphile, Catholic, know-it-all.
This entry was posted in sarcasm. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Normandie says:

    Hilarious. One day I really must come meet you guys. I’ve such great pictures in my head when I read your stories. Oh, and I love cellos!

  2. diinzumo says:

    Renting is a great idea! I say as I regard the piano in the living room that has for years only served as a dust collector and cat perch.

Leave a Reply

